Wonder Woman vs. Hooker Boots

Comic books and everything surrounding them is a passion of mine. My ultimate heroine of all time is Wonder Woman. So when I heard they were doing a movie I was ecstatic! When I heard Joss Weadon was directing it, I had mixed emotions. I love Joss’ work, but Wonder Woman had to be done perfectly. Then he left the project while it was still in pre-production because of “creative differences.” From what I have heard, one of the reasons was that he wanted to change the outfit up completely. Whether this is true or not, I don’t know, but I do know, that that is definitely a go/no-go issue for me.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m all about updating the super hero costumes, but there are certain fundamentals that CANNOT under any circumstances be changed! For instance, Wonder Woman’s costume must contain the colors of red, white, and blue is some fashion, she must have dark long hair and some sort of headband and matching bracelets with a star on them. And above all else – she MUST have red boots!!

So when I heard that the movie was scrapped I was disappointed but thought it must be for the best, because nobody needs to be frakkin up Wonder Woman. Then a few years later (now), they announced that Wonder Woman was going to be relaunched on TV!! Squee!

…and then I saw the picture of the actress in the costume…

Ummm…no. First of all, she looks like a hooker. A plastic hooker. The outfit should be any other material than plastic. And if you want to know what my absolute peeve is with this, scroll up and read my checklist for must haves…the boots are BLUE! Other than those 2 major things, I don’t have a problem with the outfit. But I would have went with something more like this…

This is not the actress that will be playing Wonder Woman of course, this is fan-made concept art that can be found here: http://fanartexhibit.wordpress.com/2009/04/15/character-design-wonder-woman-updated/

Is this a “modern” costume? No. Is it awesome? Yes. Are her boots red? YES!! They should’ve paid the above artist to design Wonder Woman’s costume over whoever came up with the piece of hooker crap posted in the top pic.

I have also read on a few forums that the storyline for the TV show has Diana Prince (Wonder Woman’s alter ego) as the CEO of a company. Great! Strong woman in a position of strength in our current society…but she is supposedly NOT an Amazon, let alone not an Amazon princess…

What? Did the people doing this show even read the comics? Or at the very least, watch the original Lynda Carter television series??

This can’t be right. Mostly for the simple fact that they have such great writers on board, including the head writer, David E. Kelley (“Boston Legal,” “Ally McBeal,” NBC’s “Harry’s Law”), and Jeffrey Reiner directing. Surely this is some kind of misunderstanding and all will be rectified in the pilot.

Either way, I’m definitely going to watch it because hey, it’s frakkin’ Wonder Woman!

About geekpeak

I'm a generation X female writer, artist, gamer, who loves bad B movies and has a serious obsession with Doctor Who, dieselpunk, and all things geek! View all posts by geekpeak

3 responses to “Wonder Woman vs. Hooker Boots

  • Praca Gorzow Wlkp

    Valuable info. Lucky me I found your website by accident, and I’m shocked why this accident didn’t happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

  • Nieruchomości Szczecin

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

  • cassiteride

    I saw the pilot a couple of weeks ago and i was disappointed by the treatment of Wonder Woman as a character. I agree that the costume is terrible and looks cheap. Wonder Woman is kind of a jerk in the pilot with a permanent scowl. All in all, It was not the best of start but i would have liked to give them a chance to show me they can do better.

Leave a comment